New All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance political Declaration


The EU signs landmark All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Declaration with 7 partner countries

In Washington, D.C. on 13 July, the European Union, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cabo Verde, Morocco, South Africa and the United States signed a new All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Declaration. It will continue the successful journey of ocean science diplomacy and set a common path forward for ocean research cooperation in the Atlantic, from Pole to Pole, for the next decade.

Through this new strategic course, the Atlantic partners will join forces to tackle the most pressing challenges the basin is facing, including climate change, biodiversity loss, pollution, ecosystem protection and restoration, and sustainable and inclusive ocean economies while contributing to the objectives of the European Green Deal and A stronger Europe in the world, and the international dimension of the EU Atlantic Action Plan 2.0.

The priorities set in the Declaration align with the main EU priorities on biodiversity and nature restoration, and through its work, the Alliance will be remain a key international cooperation network that will contribute to the Mission Restore our Ocean and Waters by 2030, the Partnership for a climate-neutral, sustainable and productive blue economy, and to the Atlantic Action Plan 2.0. The Alliance is an outstanding example of the EU Global Approach to Research and Innovation, supporting the advancement of fundamental and fit-for-purpose knowledge through free-exchange of ideas and the co-creation of solutions with the EU’s international partners.

Source here.

enlightenedTo read the entire Declaration - download here

enlightenedThe recordings of the Ministerial are on Youtube in the channel of the Alliance at the following link

yes More information are available in the website of the Alliance and in that of the 2022 All-Atlantic Ocean Research Forum