The Atlantic Strategy Committee

The ASG members at the ASPC2019 Closing Ceremony

The Atlantic Strategy Committee (ASC)

The ASC comprises representatives from the four (4) EU Member States (France, Ireland, Portugal and Spain) bordering the Atlantic Ocean as well as representatives from the European Commission, the Committee of the Regions, the Economic and Social Committee as well as representatives from coastal regions, cities and other relevant economy and social stakeholders.  

The ASC is chaired on a rotating basis by the participating countries.  The 2021 chair-in-office is Ireland.  

The ASC is the governing body of the Atlantic Strategy aiming to ensure the political and operational coordination of the Atlantic Action Plan and provide the framework for its implementation.  To that effect, each year the ASC Chair undertakes to organise the main Atlantic event – the Atlantic Stakeholder Platform Conference – on one of its coastal regions seeking to bring together all stakeholders to discuss the AAP implementation and bring forward new ideas, new innovations to promote blue economy in the Atlantic.  

In 2020, Atlantic stakeholders joined together virtually in France where the ASC French Chair brought us the ASPC2020.  New things are being planned for 2021 with the Atlantic Action Plan 2.0 and the Irish ASC Chair. 

Stay tuned.